Skip to content Skip to navigation

Gertrude Elles Award

The Palaeontological Association recognizes excellence in our profession by the award of medals and other prizes. The Association sees its lists of medals and award winners as a record of the very best palaeontologists worldwide, at different career stages, and offering different kinds of contributions to the field. The Association stresses the importance of nominations and encourages all members to make nominations. Members considering making nominations should first read the Palaeontological Association ‘Statement of Diversity’ below.

Statement of Diversity

The Palaeontological Association has an Unconscious Bias document, the recommendations of which will be adhered to at all times. All decision-making for Palaeontological Association awards and prizes will be carried out objectively and professionally. The Association is committed to making award and prize decisions purely on the basis of the merit of the individual(s). No nominee for awards or prizes will receive less favourable treatment on the grounds of: gender, marital status, sexual orientation, gender re-assignment, race, colour, nationality, ethnicity or national origins, religion or similar philosophical belief, spent criminal conviction, age or disability. Equally, all nominations will be assessed on equal terms, regardless of the sex, age and/or ethnicity of the nominee. Nominations will therefore be assessed and graded on their merits, in accordance with the criteria and the aims and objectives set for each award or medal. Due consideration will be given to any period away from science due to parental leave, illness and any other such career break. Nominators are reminded that neutral language (e.g. gender neutral) should be used in all nominations.

Palaeontological Association Awards/Medals selection procedures

The Palaeontological Association Council discusses Awards and Medals at the May Council meeting and votes to select awardees. The benefit of using Council to select awardees, rather than a dedicated awards committee, is that it draws on the wider experience of the entire Council. Voting is preceded by an introduction from the President that: (i) includes a diversity statement to remind Council of their responsibility in terms of fairness and diversity issues (including impact of non-standard careers etc.); (ii) outlines the remit and selection criteria for each award; (iii) considers the impact of awardees in terms of increasing the diversity of recipients. Each award is considered in turn with every application considered except those that clearly fall outside of the remit. Each Council Member will vote by listing their three preferred candidates in rank order. The candidate with the most votes as preferred candidate will be awarded the award/medal. If there are only two candidates and they are tied the President shall have the casting vote. If there are three or more candidates and there is a tie the vote will be recounted including the second ranked candidate for all of the votes. If the vote remains a draw after second and third ranked candidates are considered the President will cast the deciding vote.

The Gertrude Elles Award

The Gertrude Elles Award is to promote high-quality public engagement in the field of palaeontology. The award is made by Council for high quality, amateur or institutional, public engagement projects that promote the discipline. Nominated projects can include museum displays and exhibitions, outreach programmes to schools and/or communities, art/science collaborations, digital initiatives, or any other programme that falls broadly under the heading of public engagement with palaeontology.

Nominations must consist of a one-page supporting case (font-size 12) and a portfolio of up to four images. The supporting case must outline:

  • the aims of the project
  • the nature of the target audience
  • the available budget and funding sources
  • visitor/audience numbers
  • the results of project evaluation to demonstrate the quality and effectiveness of the project
  • links to any digital components
  • mechanisms for obtaining feedback

Self-nominations are permitted, and the nominators (names and contacts details required) and proposed recipients do not need to be members of the Association. Nominations will be considered relative to the scale of the institution and the available project budget. The supporting case and the portfolio of images must be compiled into a PDF file of less than 10 MB and uploaded via this webpage by the deadline.

The award will be considered by Council at its May meeting and winners will be invited to the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting in December. Awards will also be announced in the Newsletter, on the Association website and through social media. Council reserves the right not to make an award in any year.

Nominations are invited by 31st March each year.

​Full list of previous recipients can be viewed here: Medal and Award Winners


31st March at 23:59 GMT


Nomination Form

PalAss Go! URL: | Twitter: Share on Twitter | Facebook: Share on Facebook | Google+: Share on Google+