PalAss Home > Awards and Grants > Lapworth Medal
Lapworth Medal

The Lapworth Medal is the most prestigious award made by the Association. It is awarded by Council to a palaeontologist who has made a significant contribution to the science by means of a substantial body of research; it is not normally awarded on the basis of a few good papers. Council will look for some breadth as well as depth in the contributions, as well as evidence that they have made a significant impact, in choosing suitable candidates.

The medal is normally awarded each year. Candidates must be nominated by at least two members of the Association. Nominations should include a single page that summarises the candidate's career, and further supported by a brief statement from the two nominees. A list of 10 principal publications should accompany the nomination. Letters of support by others may also be submitted. Council will reserve the right not to make an award in any year.

The career summary, statements of support and publication list should be submitted in MS Word or PDF format, ideally as a single document if possible.

Nominations should be sent to by 31st March.

The Lapworth Medal is presented at the Annual Meeting.

Full list of Award and Medal winners

Created by Alan R.T. Spencer on the 2010-01-25. (Version 2.0)