PalAss Home > Awards and Grants > Hodson Award
Hodson Award

The Hodson Award is conferred on a palaeontologist who has had no more than 10 years of full time experience after their PhD, excluding periods of parental or other leave, but not excluding periods spent working in industry, and who has made a notable contribution to the science.

The candidate must be nominated by at least two members of the Association and the application must be supported by an appropriate academic case, namely a single page of details on the candidate's career, and a brief statement from each of the two nominees. A list of principal publications should accompany the nomination. Letters of support by others may also be submitted. If a candidate has taken time out from their professional career for family and other purposes, this should be highlighted.

The academic case, statements of support and publication list should be attached in MS Word or PDF format.

Nominations should be sent to by 31st March.

The Hodson Award is presented at the Annual Meeting.

    Previous recipients of the Hodson Award:
    2013 - Dr Matt Friedman (University of Oxford)
    2012 - Jakob Vinther
    2011 - Richard Butler
    2010 - Thijs Vandenbroucke
    2009 - Emily Rayfield
    2008 - Bridget Wade
    2007 - Shanan Peters
    2006 - Paul Barrett and Guy Harrington
    2005 - Philip Donoghue
    2004 - Heather Wilson
    2003 - Charlotte Jeffrey
    2002 - Matthew Wills and Graham Budd
    2001 - Ivan Sansom and Patrick Orr

Created by Liam Herringshaw on the 2013-01-14. (Version 2.0)