PalAss Home > Awards and Grants > Mary Anning Award
Mary Anning Award

The award is open to all those who are not professionally employed within palaeontology but who have made an outstanding contribution to the subject. Such contributions may range from the compilation of fossil collections, and their care and conservation, to published studies in recognised journals.

The candidate must be nominated by at least one member of the Association. Nominations should comprise a short statement (up to one page of A4) outlining the candidate's principal achievements, as well as one or more letters of support. Members putting forward candidates should also be prepared, if requested, to write an illustrated profile in support of their nominee for inclusion in the Newsletter.

Nominations should be attached in MS Word or PDF format and should include the full contact details of the candidate.

Nominations should be sent to by the 31st of March.

The award comprises a cash prize of £200 plus a framed scroll.

The Award is presented at the Annual Meeting.

Previous recipients of the Anning Award:

    2013- Dr Hans Hess (Basel, Switzerland)
    2012- Alice Rasmussen
    2011 - David Brockhurst
    Chris Duffin
    2010 - Daniel Vizcaïno
    2009 - Magne Hoyberget
    2008 - David Ward
    2007 - Jompa Ahlgren
    2006 - Robert Chandler
    2005 - Andrew Yule
    2005 - Steve Etches
    2004 - Bjørn Funke
    2004 - Phil Bennett
    2003 - M. J. Newman
    2002 - F Hotchkiss
    2001 - J. S. H. Collins
    2000 - R. Forrest
    1999 - R. Davidson

Created by Liam Herringshaw on the 2011-04-28. (Version 2.0)